The Kale Letter
The Kale Letter
Go outside. Unplug. Think.
2
0:00
-2:47

Go outside. Unplug. Think.

2

This year has been absolutely ridiculous.

Can I just be super informal and share with you the #1 thing that has helped me to get through it and come out healthier (and wealthier) on the other side?

Walking.

Outside.

Breathing.

Air.

Looking.

At.

Pretty.

Things.

—-

I’m serious.

It sounds so stupid.

I thought it wasn’t going to be as big of a deal as it is.

But I would encourage you to try it this week.

Make a trip out of it.

If you can, walk over to your nearest coffee shop and grab a brew for the walk.

It makes it even better.

I don’t need to make some long winded argument about why this helps you become healthier and wealthier, so I’ll just tell you why it’s helped me.

1) Being inside alone is depressing.

No, seriously.

Even if you enjoy all this “work from home” stuff.

I’ve noticed a MARKED difference between days my wife is home, and days she is not.

If I’m alone in this house?

Doesn’t matter that it’s a beautiful modern masterpiece.

Doesn’t matter that my office is super nice.

I’m still stuck in a box and the air is stale.

2) Moving is UNDERRATED.

We’ve all been sitting still too much.

I personally feel a huge difference in my ability to THINK when I’m MOVING and not just sitting in this desk chair.

Which leads me to..

3) The real key is THINKING.

News flash, our thoughts determine EVERYTHING about us.

If 2020 has taught me anything it’s that the PULL of SCREENS is nearly irresistible.

You could literally just be sitting at your desk.

Computer off.

Phone down.

And those screens seem to PULL at you.

You have this itch to check it..

Don’t believe me?

Try leaving your phone in another room for 10 minutes.

It feels weird as hell.

This is why you’ve gotta get outside folks.

Something about nature is the ANTI PHONE.

Don’t get me wrong, I love technology, and the ability for it to create wealth for my family and loved ones.

But looking at trees and WATER (that’s a big one for me if you can find it) seems to remind me that that phone in my pocket?

It’s like 10 years old, max.

The Earth was spinning LONG before that stupid device was created.

Hell, that water was running, and will be running, long after I’ve come and gone.

That perspective, simply, puts things into PERSPECTIVE.

Your little computer driven worries seem much smaller.

That bad zoom call with your boss seems a little less weighty.

Whatever it may be for you, I’d encourage you to just try it today.

Also, for subscribers, I send this letter out 5x a week..

So you could grab a coffee, throw your airpods in, and LISTEN to this letter on that walk…

I’ll do my best to up-lift, encourage, and inform you each day.

Appreciate you.

Kale

2 Comments
The Kale Letter
The Kale Letter
Private Feed - The Kale Letter
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Kale Abrahamson