The Kale Letter
The Kale Letter
"Do what you love" is HORRIBLE advice.
3
0:00
-4:29

"Do what you love" is HORRIBLE advice.

Open this if you hate your job
3

Guys and Gals,

Bad news for you today.

The “experts” are wrong.

Ever heard this quote?

I’m calling BS on that…..

I think this is awful advice and makes people broke, unhappy, and wondering if something is wrong with them…..

Here’s the truth.

We all want the same thing.

I think I’m in a good position to speak to the truth of this.

For the past 3 years, I’ve worked with 20,000+ entrepreneurs, who all want to start or scale their online businesses.

Yes, 20,000.

Want to know what they ALL want?

Literally every single one of them?

Freedom.

Time freedom.

Choice freedom.

“Do what I want when I want” freedom.

That’s what people really want.

The money? Just a means to an end.

So, if we all want the exact same thing, and a business or job is just a VEHICLE to get us there…. why are we worried about what vehicle it is?

Let me put it another way….

Path #1 - You drive in a Rolls Royce Ghost for 10 years, and end up at your freedom destination.

Path #2 - You drive in a beat up 1950’s Honda Civic for 2 years, and end up at your freedom destination.

Read those again if you missed the difference.

Are you willing to give up 8 years just to get to the same destination “in style?”

At the end of the day, you’re still stuck in a car!!!

That’s how I feel most people are operating though.

They are more concerned with their current pain points in their current job or business, than they are with actually getting to the destination.

I’ve literally seen people start a business centered around a product that made them feel more “comfortable” that was BLACK AND WHITE less profitable than another product, and GUARANTEED to slow down their journey to success, THOUSANDS of times.

It’s extremely common, and I wish it wasn’t.

Here’s the REAL issue with it.

I’m all about enjoying what you do, but the problem is, you always end up hating it anyway, because it’s NOT the final destination and EVERY JOB eventually wears on you.

I loved basketball more than pretty much anything.

I was great at it.

But then it turned into a job.

And I ended up hating it.

Now, I love coaching Entrepreneurs and helping them become successful.

But if I’m totally honest with you guys?

I’ve still hated it at times.

It’s still a job… a means to the true end that is FREEDOM and not HAVING to work if you don’t want to.

Honestly, I can speak to that as well.

I REALLY started to hate my company and work in general at the times when I had NO CHOICE.

I HAD to keep running it.

Keep scaling it.

Keep growing it.

Just to put food on the table.

THAT SUCKED.

Because I didn’t have a choice.

In fact, as a psychology major I can tell you one thing, humans are MOST miserable when they feel they have no choice.

There’s this famous experiment where they literally sit people in a chair and shock them.

One group gets a button (that does nothing but they don’t know that).

They are told, if you press the button you can lessen the intensity of the shock.

The other group gets nothing and just has to sit there and get shocked.

Guess who experienced EXTREMELY higher levels of pain and anxiety?

You guessed it, the ones who had NO CHOICE, no CONTROL over the situation.

Want to know when my companies became FUN again?

Was it when I molded them into my “perfect lifestyle so I’d never have to work again because I loved it so much? (que the butterflies and rainbows)”… NO.

It was when money became non important to the equation.

Once I had enough money to realistically retire whenever I wanted, instantly all the stress changed for me.

I knew I COULD just stop and go to my eventual freedom destination RIGHT NOW if I wanted to.

And that POSSIBILITY ALONE has cleared my mind unlike any “lifestyle planning” or “doing what you love” seminar ever could….

So what can you take away from this?

  • Stop acting like your job is supposed to fulfill you. It’s not. It never will.

  • Entrepreneurs, same thing. Your business is not God. It doesn’t complete you.

  • Everyone, including you, no matter how much you lie to yourself, wants the SAME THING. FREEDOM. So take the quickest route to actually achieve that freedom.

  • IMPORTANT: That route might not be easy. Deal with it. It’s better to fight tooth and nail for a short period and achieve what you actually set out to achieve in the first place.

Subscribe dang it! This letter is ridiculous.

Also share it with someone!

Are you not entertained?

Share

Kale

About the Author: Kale Abrahamson has done over $50,000,000 in online E-Commerce Sales and has been featured in Forbes, Business Insider, ESPN, & Home Business Magazine. He lives in Pittsburgh, PA with his beautiful wife Samantha and helps Entrepreneurs start and scale their online businesses + invest the returns.

3 Comments
The Kale Letter
The Kale Letter
Private Feed - The Kale Letter
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Kale Abrahamson