The Kale Letter
The Kale Letter
Everything I know about FOCUS
2
0:00
-4:11

Everything I know about FOCUS

Open this if you want to focus
2

Focus is huge.

Just getting YOU to FOCUS on this letter for the next 2 minutes is difficult.

So I’m going to respect your time and get right to it.

Here’s what I know about FOCUS (Flow of Consciousness Style)

  • There are serious LEVELS to this. Picture Lebron James vs YOU on the basketball court. Different levels right? There’s high school level, collegiate level, professional level, and Lebron levels of focus. You with me?

  • You aren’t truly focused on something unless you CAN’T FALL ASLEEP EASILY, because you are ALWAYS thinking about it. (This is actually my #1 indicator of whether or not I’m about to breakthrough on something, if I’m obsessing about it and it’s affecting my sleep, it generally means I’m in full beast mode….)

  • Focus is a “NO” game more than it is a “YES” game. You can’t say “YES” to absolute focus unless you say “NO” to basically everything and everyone else. This is difficult.

  • Focus is most easily achieved when your INCENTIVES promote absolute focus. (I.E. massive monetary reward if you do x,y,z over the next 3 months)

  • You often have more control over your incentives than you would think. Try changing the REWARD and your focus will follow suit.

  • Still not convinced focus even matters? Trying to do 500 things at once? Research and every successful person in the world will vehemently disagree with you. It is better to be the best in the World at ONE thing than average at 55.

  • You can take this too far. Constantly checking your phone because you are “focused” and neglecting your wife is a recipe for disaster. Focus on one thing with all your energy, at a time. That means when you put work down for the day, focus on your spouse or whatever else you are attending to, 100%.

  • Focus leads to dreaming which is not a bad thing, let it happen. When I’m PEAK focused sometimes my mind WILL wander to the results. I’ll dream about the vacation, or the car, or the money hitting the bank account…. THIS IS GOOD. DON’T STOP IT. The more that you VISUALIZE the end result the more likely your brain will come up with a way to ACHIEVE IT.

  • Once you have the dream, the FOCUS should be pointed at LEVERS. Getting the dream is not a function of doing 99 things well. It’s a function of doing 1, maybe 2 things, RELENTLESSLY. Take the time and focus on finding what those LEVERS are, the things that ACTUALLY move the needle towards your goals. Then focus ALL your attention on those and NONE of your attention on the other stuff.

  • Focusing like this will cause you to drop the ball (on other things). This can be scary. What I like to do is picture all those other things (that I know I’m going to drop the ball on) and ask myself “What’s the worst thing that could happen?”. You will realize that most of the time, it truly is better to ask for forgiveness than permission…. If “dropping the ball” can be rectified by one quick apology, isn’t it a worthwhile price to pay for RELENTLESS FOCUS on the things that matter the most?

  • OVERDO IT. If you are truly focused on something, losing isn’t an option. So why leave it up to chance? I know I’m truly committed and focused when I relentlessly overdo my response to something. For instance, if I know I need 100 leads per day to achieve my goal, I will find a way to ENSURE, without a doubt, that I get 200. This is a simplistic example but basically what you are doing is bringing an ARMY to a backyard brawl. The odds should not be fair. Stack them in your favor through relentless focus and energy.

If you got something valuable out of this you owe me $10.

Seriously.

It’s $10 a month ($50 a YEAR) to read this letter. And I know you ain’t payin yet.

Do me a huge favor and subscribe please, I really appreciate it and it FOCUSES ME on writing this letter every day and bringing you the best stuff I can possibly bring.

Kale

About the Author: Kale Abrahamson has done over $50,000,000 in online E-Commerce Sales and has been featured in Forbes, Business Insider, ESPN, & Home Business Magazine. He lives in Pittsburgh, PA with his beautiful wife Samantha and helps Entrepreneurs start and scale their online businesses + invest the returns.

2 Comments
The Kale Letter
The Kale Letter
Private Feed - The Kale Letter
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Kale Abrahamson